top of page

Reflections & Recollections

Volume 1


Musical Images for Piano

13 works for solo piano

Composed 2010


I regard my pieces more like "musical paintings", and have been greatly inspired by the French Impressionist period. As Claude Monet was greatly inspired by his magnificent garden, I too have used my modest Japanese koi pond and bonsai courtyard garden as a setting for my pieces. Hence the references to water, shadows, climate, fish...

The idea behind these offerings is to express my recollections of my life experiences framed within the reference of a garden setting. These pieces are not intended to further the boundaries of musical innovation, or to showcase virtuosity, but essentially to transport the listener on their own journey of reflection and recollection.


These offerings are the first of several intended volumes of work.

-- Mark John McEncroe, 2013

This collection of pieces is available on the albums Reflections & Recollections Volume 1 (pianist Helen Kennedy), Reflections (pianist John Martin), and Musical Images for Piano performed by Yoko Hagino

Orchestrated versions of the works are released on the 2019 album Musical Images for Chamber Orchestra Vol. 1.

Sheet Music available through Wirripang


1.  A Lazy Summer's Afternoon

2.  Andante Moderato

3.  Dancing in the Light

4.  A Fish with the Blues

5.  The Gargoyle Fountain

6. Ghosts from the Past

7. Introspective Moments

8. Ripples on the Still Water

9. Shades of Autumn

10. Shadows in the Water

11. Shadows of an Old Memory

12. The Calling

13. The Pendulum

Recordings of these works are available on the albums Reflections & Recollections Volume 1, Reflections, Musical Images for Piano and Music Images for Chamber Orchestra, Vol. 1.

NV6247 - McEncroe, Mark John - Musical I

Yoko Hagino performing The Pendulum

bottom of page